Getting serious about making changes to smash debt

By getting serious, I don’t mean buying one less takeaway meal per week. Then keeping that money. And spending it on drinks at the weekend.

I mean REALLY.SERIOUS.CHANGES. Because I am in some REALLY.SERIOUS.DEBT

The way I figured it was; change fell into 2 categories:

  • Lifestyle changes
  • Attitude changes.

The biggest lifestyle change I have made is moving back home with my parents. When I arrived back in Australia after my trip, like I said, I was BROKE. The immediate option was for me to stay with my parents for awhile until I figured out my next step. When I realised my next step HAD to be tackling my debt, becoming debt free by the end of 2013, I knew it made financial sense for me to stay with my folks For a year or until I had finally kicked debts ass.

Living with my folks meant being in a new state  where I don’t know anyone (I have never lived here) and an epic commute – yep 2 hours EACH WAY- to get to work. But in this case the end justifies the means – because the end will be me being fabulously debt free quicker. And the sooner Im not sending half of every pay check my financial institute buddies –  ANZ, CITI BANK and Commonwealth Bank – the better.

But wait – Im getting this little story out of order.

Before I could actually action and commit to my lifestyle change (not just think “hmmmm this is what I should do…maybe next year….” ) I needed an attitude change.

My attitude towards debt changed when I realised I was in deep enough that if it wasn’t addressed it would seriously hinder  my goal to travel.  I want to spend my 30’s travelling the world. And not within  the corporate world’s 4 weeks yearly allowance , I want to bounce around the globe for however long and roam however far I please. The huge attraction of travelling for me is the sense of freedom. Freedom from the daily grind, freedom to explore, freedom to have and live each day as your own. Unfortunately, dragging around a Big Pile Of Crappy Debt kinda rains on freedom’s parade.

I realized that Financial Freedom is a far nicer and more flexible travelling companion.

And once I made the connection that being debt free would positively impact my long term travel goals – my attitude changed. I am ready to grab hold of the debt and pay every cent off. I understand that it means taking a year out and prioritising it above everything else. Ive accepted I won’t be doing anything super duper fabulous and exciting in terms of travelling this year.

But you know what, just quietly, I think being debt free will be pretty freakin fabulous.

ps – Keeping my travel memories at the front of my mind (and below!) always an excellent motivation 🙂

Image

Image

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

Forks in the Road

the intersection of food and travel

Single Girl's Guide to Becoming Debt Free

And the lessons she's learned along the way!

saving{s} grace blog

a journey to financial freedom through following Jesus

4000 Sundays

Life adventures. Mostly involving travel and ridiculous amounts of caffeine

bad yellow duck

New York. Bath Toys. Etc.

Debt Free Martini

Blogging away my debt in hopes to drink an imaginary debt free martini....and finally become financially fit.

Banishing Loans

Because sometimes a 20-sided die makes more sense than money

Balancing purses and pennies in heels.

... in search of the perfect balance between living frugally and living to the max!

Double Debt Single Woman

a single woman paying off over $140,000 of debt

The Healthful Saver

The Quest for Healthy Savings and a Healthy Lifestyle

Simply Save

Saving money & simplifying life

I Make My Bed

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Making My Way to Zero

Making my way to zero one day at a time

TML Work Blog

Share financial tips and work

Living Awesome

A Road to Happiness, Success and Fulfillment

Life in the Orchard

A Little Crafting, Cooking, Gardening and Living

Budget Loving Military Wife

Our Journey from Debt to Wealth

