How a Relationship Breakdown lead to a Debt Breakup

Personal finance management is never a hot topic on a first date.

Unless you are a pair of financial managers. In which case the conversation is possible – but still not hot.

So when the topic is finally raised – how much do you actually tell your partner about your personal financial position?

My last relationship was with a guy who was very financially sensible. While I, on the other hand, was deep in debt. The knowledge of this financial disparity made me feel:

A) Ashamed of my financial state of affairs

B) Afraid to be honest about how much debt I was actually in

C) Worried about how I would ever pay it off without effecting the lifestyle we both had together.

When the relationship ended quite abruptly –  nothing to do with money, everything to do with the fact he was a cheating %^&*- I was gutted.

But in my efforts to salvage any positive from the situation, I began to realise the relationship breakdown and my subsequent launch into singledom presented me with an opportunity.

An opportunity to make whatever changes necessary to maximise my debt repayments. I could move in and live with my parents. I could live a verrrrrryyy lean – bordering on boring! – social life for as long as it took to repay the debt. I could say no to holidays.These choices would affect no one but me.

Trying to do these things while with my ex would have effected our relationship. I am someone who likes to pay my way – and I would never expect a partner to pay for me to maintain a current lifestyle while I sorted out my debt.

The end of the relationship really freed me up to make these changes in my life. And I am taking advantage of that.

Relationship breakdowns are tough. We have all been there. Cried like you would never stop. Ate cake and icecream long after you should have stopped. And just generally felt like things wouldn’t get better.

But I really encourage you to;

A) step away from that  icecream and cake (it’s your 6th slice already!)

and

B) Take absolute hold of  new opportunities – financial or otherwise – that can (WILL!!!) come your way after a break up.

When one door closes,..another one eats more icecream and cake opens 🙂

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “How a Relationship Breakdown lead to a Debt Breakup

  1. Hey, I found your blog through Simply Stacys blog.
    I’ve been in a relationship for 3 years and we know everything, we actually work together and motivate each other to financial success. It’s terrible when they cheat, cheaters suck no matter what!
    Stay strong girl.
    Check out my blog. I oftenly blog about, my life, money, fitness, product reviews, random stuff 🙂
    http://wp.me/p2dJgx-n2

    • Hey Amber! Thanks for dropping by The Debt Breakup! Yeh, when a relationship ends due to unfaithfulness, it’s just like an extra slap in the face. But I think my cloud has a silver lining and Im really taking this opportunity being single to pursue my own goals (un-related to men!) and getting debt free is one of them. I will certainly check out your blog 🙂 Hope you had a great Easter!

Leave a Reply

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

Forks in the Road

the intersection of food and travel

Single Girl's Guide to Becoming Debt Free

And the lessons she's learned along the way!

saving{s} grace blog

a journey to financial freedom through following Jesus

4000 Sundays

Life adventures. Mostly involving travel and ridiculous amounts of caffeine

bad yellow duck

New York. Bath Toys. Etc.

Debt Free Martini

Blogging away my debt in hopes to drink an imaginary debt free martini....and finally become financially fit.

Banishing Loans

Because sometimes a 20-sided die makes more sense than money

Balancing purses and pennies in heels.

... in search of the perfect balance between living frugally and living to the max!

Double Debt Single Woman

a single woman paying off over $140,000 of debt

The Healthful Saver

The Quest for Healthy Savings and a Healthy Lifestyle

Simply Save

Saving money & simplifying life

I Make My Bed

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Making My Way to Zero

Making my way to zero one day at a time

TML Work Blog

Share financial tips and work

Living Awesome

A Road to Happiness, Success and Fulfillment

Life in the Orchard

A Little Crafting, Cooking, Gardening and Living

Budget Loving Military Wife

Our Journey from Debt to Wealth

