Coffee Vs Debt – There can only be one winner……

Coffee, Coffee, Coffee…..you delicious little vice, you.

Coffee: Who…. me?

Me: Yes you! – your welcoming, warm voice calls to me out of cafes every day. You are like a caffeinated Siren of the sea, I am the Sailor. I can’t resist your call.

I do love you coffee. But you are rather costly.

Coffee: Really? $4.50 for a hit of this goodness isn’t THAT much….

Me: But I’m seeing you on a regular basis. As in daily. It adds up. I think we need to take a little break…

Inspired by a fellow debt blogger’s recent post  Frugal in the morning , I thought I would share my little daily battle of trying not to buy coffee. Everyday.

It really does add up, any coffee lover turned debt fighting super hero (heroine) , has done the math. A daily cup at $4.50 x 7 x 52 = $1638.00 per year for my caffeine fix.

This week I set myself a little challenge of only purchasing 2 coffees. All week. UNHEARD of for me. I am just finishing my second one as I write this post. So that little conversation above, it did actually happen – just then 😉

Coffee is a treat and I love it. I am never going to completely deny myself, because no coffee does a miserable Elesha make. However, in the interest of my debt campaign, I am seriously going to try to stick to 2 a week.

That’s a weekly saving of $22.50 and a yearly saving of $1170.00

Coffee my faithful friend, we will meet again. Just not as often.

On a little coffee side note, during the month I traveled in Argentina, I can honestly say this cafe – Coffee Town-  served the  only decent coffee I had. And it was amazing. In San Telmo, Buenos Aries during vintage market trawling on a freezing cold day.

I could have kissed the barista I was so happy.

coffee

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Coffee Vs Debt – There can only be one winner……

  1. Pete says:

    I feel your pain. Coffee is what activates my brain and allows the world to seep in… The more coffee the more I can handle. But at what cost, giving up maybe lunch? Great posting, thanks.

  2. mylittleadobe says:

    I’m so sorry to hear your breaking up with coffee =( even if it’s not a complete break up. ha. I make a chai tea at home every morning before I head for hell..umm I mean work. Giving it up even to two days a week would suuuccckk. But It costs me like 12 cents a cup at home or something…so not toooo bad.

  3. Love this! I have similar conversations with coffee on a regular basis. I’m in pretty much the same boat, so this is really encouraging.

  4. Great post! I have changed to making my own coffee at home now thank goodness. Best of luck to you. Thanks for sharing Angelia @ http://dixielandcountry.com

Leave a Reply

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

Forks in the Road

the intersection of food and travel

Single Girl's Guide to Becoming Debt Free

And the lessons she's learned along the way!

saving{s} grace blog

a journey to financial freedom through following Jesus

4000 Sundays

Life adventures. Mostly involving travel and ridiculous amounts of caffeine

bad yellow duck

New York. Bath Toys. Etc.

Debt Free Martini

Blogging away my debt in hopes to drink an imaginary debt free martini....and finally become financially fit.

Banishing Loans

Because sometimes a 20-sided die makes more sense than money

Balancing purses and pennies in heels.

... in search of the perfect balance between living frugally and living to the max!

Double Debt Single Woman

a single woman paying off over $140,000 of debt

The Healthful Saver

The Quest for Healthy Savings and a Healthy Lifestyle

Simply Save

Saving money & simplifying life

I Make My Bed

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Making My Way to Zero

Making my way to zero one day at a time

TML Work Blog

Share financial tips and work

Living Awesome

A Road to Happiness, Success and Fulfillment

Life in the Orchard

A Little Crafting, Cooking, Gardening and Living

Budget Loving Military Wife

Our Journey from Debt to Wealth

