The disappearing $20 note…and my thoughts on twin pack chocolate bars

Recently I have begun a little habit of keeping my wallet empty.

Not because I have spent all my cash. But because it was never in my wallet the first place.

See, I notice this strange phenomenon occur when I break a $20.00 note with the intent to make a small purchase, something of only a few dollars. I make the small purchase and then, within a few hours, or a day, the rest of the $20.00 miraculously disappears.

It  hasn’t been magically absorbed into the atmosphere.  It’s been frittered away on purchases I really didn’t need but felt almost compelled to buy because, hey, I’ve got some spare change so why not!

It is similar to the 2 chocolate bar phenomenon, which occurs regularly in my life. Any chocolate bar that comes as a 2 pack, I open that pack with the intent to eat 1 of the bars. And save the 2nd bar for ‘later’.  (Note: It is likely I brought this chocolate bar with the change from the $20.00)

It’s saved for later alright. 5 minutes later. I’ve inhaled both bars, when I only meant to eat one and I’m left with a nice little sugar buzz,  holding an empty packet.

Exactly what happens when I break a note. Intend to break it for a small purchase. And save the rest. But in no time Im left holding  an empty wallet, on my way to withdraw more cash.

I am realising more and more that the small things make a difference. When you have a small notes and a couple of coins rolling around in your wallet (your change from that $20.00), you really don’t think twice about spending it. And it’s normally on crap you don’t really need (eg – aforementioned chocolate bar)

Anyways, now I am trying to make most purchases via eftpos and carry as little cash as possible. And so many stores these days have very low (or no) minimum purchase amount. So, even small cashless purchases are easy.

Without that loose change rolling around, it seems I’m spending less and minimising cash withdrawals.

And eating less chocolate. Which isn’t always a bad thing 😉

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

Forks in the Road

the intersection of food and travel

Single Girl's Guide to Becoming Debt Free

And the lessons she's learned along the way!

saving{s} grace blog

a journey to financial freedom through following Jesus

4000 Sundays

Life adventures. Mostly involving travel and ridiculous amounts of caffeine

bad yellow duck

New York. Bath Toys. Etc.

Debt Free Martini

Blogging away my debt in hopes to drink an imaginary debt free martini....and finally become financially fit.

Banishing Loans

Because sometimes a 20-sided die makes more sense than money

Balancing purses and pennies in heels.

... in search of the perfect balance between living frugally and living to the max!

Double Debt Single Woman

a single woman paying off over $140,000 of debt

The Healthful Saver

The Quest for Healthy Savings and a Healthy Lifestyle

Simply Save

Saving money & simplifying life

I Make My Bed

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Making My Way to Zero

Making my way to zero one day at a time

TML Work Blog

Share financial tips and work

Living Awesome

A Road to Happiness, Success and Fulfillment

Life in the Orchard

A Little Crafting, Cooking, Gardening and Living

Budget Loving Military Wife

Our Journey from Debt to Wealth

