Getting by without the frills…..

Backpacking  through South America taught me a lot about what I can and can’t do without. Any fellow traveller would agree – when you are humping a huge backpack around for months at a time, you get pretty darn picky, pretty darn quickly, about what goes in.

Suddenly, hair product – beyond shampoo and conditioner – are no longer necessities. Wearing the same clothes day in and day out is actually preferable to buying more thus adding anymore weight to your back . Souvenirs are only selected (if at all!) based on weight and size – postcards anyone?

And then you realise you have been travelling, surviving and thriving with 15kgs of worldly possessions  for months on end. Coupled with a typical travelling budget (aka – not friggin much) it turns out that you don’t actually need much stuff to be happy.

When I got home, I was broke. Making what money I DID have last until I was once again employed, saw me sacrificing the ‘I Wants’ to make sure I had enough for the real ‘I Needs’  (yes, coffee is a real I Need but I had to even sacrifice those daily cups of goodness in the end 😉

And, I got through it. I was down to my last $20 in the bank when the Big Man Upstairs smiled on me and got me a great job.

So, by the time I commenced my Debt Breakup plan, I had some training and experience in getting by without all the extra frills and toppings we often consider Needs. Living in a world so unbelievably focused on consumerism and ‘achieving’ status through the accumulation of possessions, it’s no wonder the line between a Need and a Want has become so blurred.

A generation growing up with the  ‘need it now’ mentality puts every new product touted as the next latest and greatest – into the Need category. Only to find, a few months later, something even MORE awesome has taken it’s place. Better rush out and buy (charge!) that too.

What an exhausting and expensive merry-go-round to be on.

Now, even though I have the cash to buy these things, I’m still trying to live that ‘leaner’ life and direct that extra cash towards my debt.

More than that, I have the knowledge that letting these things go for the time being won’t kill me. My possessions don’t own or define me. I can take a personal stand against the onslaught of marketing slapping consumers in the face every day. I can say no thanks Apple, my life is just fine without the iPhone 5000045.

And there is quite a lovely freedom in that.

withoutmoney

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Getting by without the frills…..

  1. This is really encouraging to read. I’m trying to let go of a lot of the stuff I’ve accumulated. If it’s been packed in a box for the last 4 years or more, I really don’t need it. But it’s still so hard to let it go. Thanks for the reminder that things and money aren’t everything!

    • I was such a ‘hanger on’ to things that Id had for years, that played no real role in my life and had no real emotional attachments either! Now with this new mindset, I feel a lot less cluttered in my life in general. And I seriously haven’t given a second thought to the things I have thrown out or given to thrift shops! So I say…Let Go!! Yay!!

Leave a Reply

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

Forks in the Road

the intersection of food and travel

Single Girl's Guide to Becoming Debt Free

And the lessons she's learned along the way!

saving{s} grace blog

a journey to financial freedom through following Jesus

4000 Sundays

Life adventures. Mostly involving travel and ridiculous amounts of caffeine

bad yellow duck

New York. Bath Toys. Etc.

Debt Free Martini

Blogging away my debt in hopes to drink an imaginary debt free martini....and finally become financially fit.

Banishing Loans

Because sometimes a 20-sided die makes more sense than money

Balancing purses and pennies in heels.

... in search of the perfect balance between living frugally and living to the max!

Double Debt Single Woman

a single woman paying off over $140,000 of debt

The Healthful Saver

The Quest for Healthy Savings and a Healthy Lifestyle

Simply Save

Saving money & simplifying life

I Make My Bed

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Making My Way to Zero

Making my way to zero one day at a time

TML Work Blog

Share financial tips and work

Living Awesome

A Road to Happiness, Success and Fulfillment

Life in the Orchard

A Little Crafting, Cooking, Gardening and Living

Budget Loving Military Wife

Our Journey from Debt to Wealth

