Money as a tool – not just a repayment

We all know the saying ‘money isn’t everything’

And it is true. There are things we need to prioritize above money – family, friends, the quality of relationships and interaction we have every day with our fellow human beings. We have all seen what putting money first does to a person. And the fact that it really doesn’t buy happiness.

But lately, I am understanding the value of money as a tool to help facilitate the goals and dreams in my head becoming reality. Because, let’s face it, some of my big Bucket List goals require cash. Mostly because they involve expense in travel. I am often drawn to challenges requiring an overseas location 🙂  I don’t just want to run a marathon. I want to run the NYC marathon. I don’t just want to climb a mountain in the local national park. I want to get to base camp in Everest. My goals rarely involve acquiring ‘things’ – it’s more about experiences.

The longer my money is tied up in debt or debt elimination, the longer it is not actually working as a tool for me. It is working as income for institutions. The sooner I am out of debt, the sooner money will actually become a resource to fund the dreams that do require cash.

For years, the plan for my monthly income has looked something like this:

  • Rent
  • Laptop repayment
  • Phone repayment
  • Payment Credit Card #1
  • Loan repayment
  • Payment Credit Card 2
  • Whitegood rental payment

Etc etc etc, You get the idea. A lot of ‘repayments’.

This is what I WANT the plan for my monthly income to look like:

  • Expenses
  • The rest – FUNDING MY DREAMS!!!!!!!!!

Bring on Debt Free(dom!)

2 thoughts on “Money as a tool – not just a repayment

  1. frugalinvest says:

    Thanks for subscribing to my blog and good luck with the debt breakup….. it can be tough =T

  2. Thanks for your comment! It won’t be easy, but I am well and truly ready to break up with this old ball and chain 😉

Leave a Reply

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

Forks in the Road

the intersection of food and travel

Single Girl's Guide to Becoming Debt Free

And the lessons she's learned along the way!

saving{s} grace blog

a journey to financial freedom through following Jesus

4000 Sundays

Life adventures. Mostly involving travel and ridiculous amounts of caffeine

bad yellow duck

New York. Bath Toys. Etc.

Debt Free Martini

Blogging away my debt in hopes to drink an imaginary debt free martini....and finally become financially fit.

Banishing Loans

Because sometimes a 20-sided die makes more sense than money

Balancing purses and pennies in heels.

... in search of the perfect balance between living frugally and living to the max!

Double Debt Single Woman

a single woman paying off over $140,000 of debt

The Healthful Saver

The Quest for Healthy Savings and a Healthy Lifestyle

Simply Save

Saving money & simplifying life

I Make My Bed

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Making My Way to Zero

Making my way to zero one day at a time

TML Work Blog

Share financial tips and work

Living Awesome

A Road to Happiness, Success and Fulfillment

Life in the Orchard

A Little Crafting, Cooking, Gardening and Living

Budget Loving Military Wife

Our Journey from Debt to Wealth

