Worried about money? Don’t be. Just eat more cookie dough ice-cream.

One day my gorgeous boyfriend who happened to be both filthy rich AND of exotic European back ground turned to me and said (in an extremely sexy accent)

‘Darling, your debt? Forget this! I have paid it all. And I, also being an extremely generous man who loves giving gifts, have deposited enough money into your account so you will never need to work again. We can sail together, for the rest of our days on the Italian coast, running hand in hand along beaches at sunset. Oh, and you will also be able to eat cookie dough ice-cream every day for the rest of your life and NEVER GAIN WEIGHT…

And then, like the story always goes, I woke up.

Still in debt, and not in any way immune to the calorific content of a bowl of cookie dough icecream.

*sigh*

Before I got serious about smashing debt, I always felt worry about my financial situation kicking around in my mind…sometimes is was vague worry, just scratching around back there. Other times it was a big ‘WE NEED TO GET THIS S*^t SORTED ASAP’ worry voice booming out.

I knew the situation was grim, but it seemed so big that I refused (stupidly) to think strategically about the situation. So this nagging worry and anxiety about my finances was always lurking around, and it sucked.

When that booming voice boomed so loud that I could deny it’s boom-i-ness no longer, I finally stopped making excuses to get out of debt. I took ACTION. I created a PLAN to attack my debt and made the LIFESTYLE CHANGES necessary to implement this plan.

And as soon as I made that first payment towards my debt, although it barely made a dent, that anxiety and worry lifted from me. The annoying booming voice disappeared. I was still in debt. But I was in control, and I felt a lot calmer. I had a plan – direction and focus. I was no longer wandering aimlessly around the Big Scary Land Of Personal Finance. I had a map. And I was on my way.

The important thing to note, is the map had always been available to me, and it’s directions to get out of this mess would never change:

Directions – walk straight along A Lot Of Hard Work and Sacrifice Street, turn right at Repayment lane. Then repeat over and over again. Eventually you will come to a gate that says Debt Free. Walk through this gate and NEVER TURN BACK.

Although I am still in a lot of debt, and not a cent of savings to my name (yes, I am freestyling a bit and bucking the Emergency Fund trend for the moment….) I actually feel less financial anxiety than I did when I had savings and debt.

Because I’ve got my directions, I know what I need to do, my mind is set and I am getting the heck out of this place.

And Im taking this bowl of cookie dough ice-cream with me.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Worried about money? Don’t be. Just eat more cookie dough ice-cream.

  1. Wouldn’t that be awesome just wake up and be free of all financial troubles?!?!?! On a bright note, at least my husband knows I didn’t marry him for his money (because he doesn’t have any) 🙂

    • hahaha! Im sure you hubby is pleased you had all the right intentions and didn’t just marry for money or a big stash of cookie dough ice-cream 😉 It would be brilliant if all our financial woes magically disappeared…but for the time being, looks like hard work and commitment is the only way out 🙂

  2. You can do it! I believe in you! 🙂

  3. I love your goal… No Spend Week 🙂 I’m gonna plan to it 🙂

    • I’m almost at the end! It hasn’t been super easy but not super hard either 🙂 I did have to purchase some flights (if I left it any later the cost would have increased)

      I certainly say give it a go!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

Forks in the Road

the intersection of food and travel

Single Girl's Guide to Becoming Debt Free

And the lessons she's learned along the way!

saving{s} grace blog

a journey to financial freedom through following Jesus

4000 Sundays

Life adventures. Mostly involving travel and ridiculous amounts of caffeine

bad yellow duck

New York. Bath Toys. Etc.

Debt Free Martini

Blogging away my debt in hopes to drink an imaginary debt free martini....and finally become financially fit.

Banishing Loans

Because sometimes a 20-sided die makes more sense than money

Balancing purses and pennies in heels.

... in search of the perfect balance between living frugally and living to the max!

Double Debt Single Woman

a single woman paying off over $140,000 of debt

The Healthful Saver

The Quest for Healthy Savings and a Healthy Lifestyle

Simply Save

Saving money & simplifying life

I Make My Bed

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Making My Way to Zero

Making my way to zero one day at a time

TML Work Blog

Share financial tips and work

Living Awesome

A Road to Happiness, Success and Fulfillment

Life in the Orchard

A Little Crafting, Cooking, Gardening and Living

Budget Loving Military Wife

Our Journey from Debt to Wealth

