Spending time thinking about spending

When you are trying to get out from under a mountain of dent, your expenses – understandably – come under scrutiny. Paying off this debt can be such a battle – fighting against unnecessary spending – that sometimes things get a little out of control.

For example, this is the thought process I went through last week when I REEEEAAALLY wanted a coffee. One of the ‘little’ expenses that I find it so hard to curb.

“I really feel like a coffee……. I wasn’t going to buy coffee this week…………maybe I can get one from that cheaper place, I think a small latte is only $3.00 there…….hmmm yeh but the coffee is pretty crap,,,,,,no, I won’t get one…..I REALLY want one though, I got up early this morning, I deserve it…..ok, if Ive got $4.90 in change in my purse I’ll get one….(looks in purse, no money)…right that means I shouldn’t get one!!!!…..well I need to get $20.00 out to buy facewash anyways…I’ll just get $20.00 out and buy from that….I’ll go to the good place though, because if Im going to get one it may as well be good….uurrgghh paying of debt SUCKS!”

I’ll have a large latte thanks

This whole process took about 10 minutes, Previously I would have not even spent 10 seconds  considering buying a coffee.

At least Im paying more attention now.

But seriously? For $4.90? Just buy the damn coffee 😉

4 thoughts on “Spending time thinking about spending

  1. Ever thought about budgeting in a certain amount of money each week for non essentials like coffee since its important to you. So you don’t have to fight with yourself?

    • I think this is what I need to do – and I am going to make a ‘coffee allowance’ from my next pay (which is wednesday) and keep an envelope with my coffee money inside to spend without the guilt! Probably approx $13.00. Thanks for your comment and advice 🙂

  2. Carly says:

    Haha… this has become my thought process for EVERYTHING I buy now. Glad I’m not the only one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

Forks in the Road

the intersection of food and travel

Single Girl's Guide to Becoming Debt Free

And the lessons she's learned along the way!

saving{s} grace blog

a journey to financial freedom through following Jesus

4000 Sundays

Life adventures. Mostly involving travel and ridiculous amounts of caffeine

bad yellow duck

New York. Bath Toys. Etc.

Debt Free Martini

Blogging away my debt in hopes to drink an imaginary debt free martini....and finally become financially fit.

Banishing Loans

Because sometimes a 20-sided die makes more sense than money

Balancing purses and pennies in heels.

... in search of the perfect balance between living frugally and living to the max!

Double Debt Single Woman

a single woman paying off over $140,000 of debt

The Healthful Saver

The Quest for Healthy Savings and a Healthy Lifestyle

Simply Save

Saving money & simplifying life

I Make My Bed

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Making My Way to Zero

Making my way to zero one day at a time

TML Work Blog

Share financial tips and work

Living Awesome

A Road to Happiness, Success and Fulfillment

Life in the Orchard

A Little Crafting, Cooking, Gardening and Living

Budget Loving Military Wife

Our Journey from Debt to Wealth

