Week 11 – Expense and Debt update

Week 11!  Wow, can’t believe ‘been capturing and posting all my expenses for almost 3 months. I must say this blog has been a highly useful tool when it comes to keeping oneself accountable.

So a few points about my expenses this week. Yes, I won $105.00 from playing the pokies. NO I am not a gambler and I hardly EVER put money in the pokies as it is such a waste. However, I had a few drinks with just my youngest brother on Friday eve, which was nice but he does like to play the pokies, so I put some money in too, and, surprisingly, won. Anyhoos debt busting friends, that was a rarity and I certainly do not endorse gambling as a viable way to ‘earn’ money!

Secondly, I also spent quite a bit on vitamins and protein drinks this week. I am closing in on the last 1.5 months of training for the marathon and must ensure, at whatever cost, my body is healthy and receiving all the stuff it needs to stay energized and complete the training required so I can run my best race on the day.

Lastly, I will be following the advice of my fellow blogger Healthful Saver and giving myself $15 per week for coffees, which equates roughly to 3 coffees. Ive had my 3 for this week 😉  Im sick of fighting myself for something that I do really enjoy – if you haven’t noticed that already! – so a coffee  ‘pocket money’ allowance has been given.

oh – and this week I paid off my first ‘over and above the minimum repayment’ for my 2nd credit card. Felt great to whack that balance with a nice big $500 😉

So here are my week 11 stats:

Total Income 

  •  $1595.00 + $105.00 won

Spending / Expenses:

(Amounts in italics are included in my regular monthly expense budget as listed in this previous post)

  • Monday: $10.00 travel
  • Tuesday: $40.00 travel, $4.90 coffee, $20.00 groceries
  •  Wednesday: $2.00 sausage roll, $240.00 board / electricity, $80.00 donation, $500 debt repayment to credit card 2, $120.00 entry fee for marathon, $190.00 flights
  • Thursday: $4.20 coffee, $15.00 notepads, $100.00 travel
  • Friday:  $3.90 coffee, $5.95 maccas, $20.00 pokies, $45.00 drinks
  • Saturday: $4.00 coffee, $51.65 vitamins / protein drinks
  • Sunday: $0.00

Total Expenses / spend: $1456.60

Week 11 Summary

Income $1595.00 + bank balance $397.35 + won $105.00 = $2097.35 – expenses $1456.60

$640.75   in bank account

Week 11 debt status

Credit card #1 – $0.00!!!! (Goal to pay off in total by 2nd May 2013 COMPLETED ON TIME!!!!!!!!!!)

Credit card #2 – $4318.05   (Goal to pay off in total by 8th August 2013)

Personal loan – $7,229.72 (Goal to pay off in total by 31st October 2013)

Total Debt : $11,547.77

Initial Debt: $14, 744.12

Debt reduced by week 11:  $ 3,196.35

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Week 11 – Expense and Debt update

  1. Well, I learned a lot from your post by googling ‘pokies’ and ‘maccas’ – if I come to Australia some day I am really going to know what’s what!

    Looks like you had a great week. Glad you are trying a budget line for the coffee. By my way of thinking, putting something in your budget is a way of being honest with yourself. You are saying ‘This is something I am choosing to spend my money on right now’ – another person may or may not agree, but it is your money and you are in charge.

    $500 payment is awesome!

    • ha! Im glad my Aussie slang may be of some help to you, should you ever visit Down Under 🙂 Ive done well with my coffee budget this week – I also found a place that does ‘happy hour’ coffees or only $2.50 – so I can really max my $15 if I want too!

      • “happy hour” for coffee… Love it. Glad you found some peace on this budget issue. You are in this for the long haul so you have to find a happy balance so you don’t give up.

  2. Congrats on paying off a credit card! Way to go!

  3. Congrats on paying off the card! Way to go!

Leave a Reply

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

Forks in the Road

the intersection of food and travel

Single Girl's Guide to Becoming Debt Free

And the lessons she's learned along the way!

saving{s} grace blog

a journey to financial freedom through following Jesus

4000 Sundays

Life adventures. Mostly involving travel and ridiculous amounts of caffeine

bad yellow duck

New York. Bath Toys. Etc.

Debt Free Martini

Blogging away my debt in hopes to drink an imaginary debt free martini....and finally become financially fit.

Banishing Loans

Because sometimes a 20-sided die makes more sense than money

Balancing purses and pennies in heels.

... in search of the perfect balance between living frugally and living to the max!

Double Debt Single Woman

a single woman paying off over $140,000 of debt

The Healthful Saver

The Quest for Healthy Savings and a Healthy Lifestyle

Simply Save

Saving money & simplifying life

I Make My Bed

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Making My Way to Zero

Making my way to zero one day at a time

TML Work Blog

Share financial tips and work

Living Awesome

A Road to Happiness, Success and Fulfillment

Life in the Orchard

A Little Crafting, Cooking, Gardening and Living

Budget Loving Military Wife

Our Journey from Debt to Wealth

