Wearing the same clothes. Over and over and OVER again.

I am so freakin bored with my wardrobe.

Clothes are pretty much the first on the hit list of things to go when the budget gets serious. I have had 2 skirts, 5 tops and 2 dresses on high rotation for the last 10 months as my work wardrobe.

Most items are black / dark and simple. Coming into the new season (summer) fashion, all these delightful light, bright and fabulous numbers are calling to me from shop windows.

Must.Not.Buy

Yes, yes, I know – first world problems. But, this blog is about my journey to debt freedom, and that includes leaving no whinge or frustration unsaid.

So, now I have that off my chest, the plan from 14th Oct – 14th Nov is to eliminate the items that burn a hole in my pocket.

After tracking my expenses for months, I can identify where a large portion of my $$ goes:

  • Coffee – yep, no surprises there!
  • Alcohol – seriously, in Australia drinking in bars / restaurants is SO expensive
  • Groceries – now I am not going to eliminate groceries altogether obviously! But I need to be smarter about where I purchase groceries and what I buy

So, my approach is this. Purchase only 1 coffee a week. Purchase NO alcohol. Shop at ALDI rather than Coles for my weekly work lunch groceries. I rarely ever buy my lunch at work, instead I do a shop every Monday morning for what I need for the week. But sometimes that shop can still cost me quite a bit. I tend to buy ‘brand name’ groceries and I do love the organic health food aisle πŸ˜‰ But over the next month I just need to make simple purchases, not sacrificing healthy eating, but just getting down to necessity only.

So this was the 1st week and I have kept on track so far.

If I am going to blow this debt out of the water by the end of the year, it is crunch time. I have felt on a really tight leash lately and it has been doing my head in a bit, but I’m pulling out all stops to go into 2014 debt Β free.

‘Perseverance is is the hard work you do after you get tired of doing the hard work you already did’ Β –Β Newt Gingrich

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Wearing the same clothes. Over and over and OVER again.

  1. I think you’ve got a great plan there and I really hope you succeed and have your debt paid off by the end of 2013! How amazing would that be? This is really something that would motivate me so much! Good luck, you can do it! πŸ˜›

    • Thank you! I remember writing my Goals For 2013 list at the start of the year, and being debt free by the end of 2013 was #1 on the list. I remember feeling so overwhelmed with debt when I wrote it…and now I think well slowly, I AM getting there. I agree, starting 2014 debt free would be AMAZING! Thanks for your encouragement πŸ™‚

  2. Lana says:

    I think it is awesome you’re on a great track to kicking your debt. No name products are still good but cost less then name products. And heck if you can save a few bucks its well worth it. Keep up the great work.

  3. ecobota says:

    I am so excited to keep following this blog.

    I’m recently shifting gears myself with expenses and income and coffee was something I noticed right away, too. Those few dollars each day add up and you don’t even think about them. I went to one of those discount home stores and bought myself a really good travel mug: it is fully insulated and it closes so completely I can throw it in my purse without a drip. Now I just make coffee at home for a less than a dollar and bring it to work with me.

    • Thank you for your comments and following my blog! I’ve just commented to another blogger, John Haver, that this month has been tough and I have felt like giving up. But I won’t. Well, I can’t! But guess what, I’m not drinking as much take away coffee – no where near as much! – so that is one good thing πŸ˜‰ I agree, the insulated cups are great. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

Forks in the Road

the intersection of food and travel

Single Girl's Guide to Becoming Debt Free

And the lessons she's learned along the way!

saving{s} grace blog

a journey to financial freedom through following Jesus

4000 Sundays

Life adventures. Mostly involving travel and ridiculous amounts of caffeine

bad yellow duck

New York. Bath Toys. Etc.

Debt Free Martini

Blogging away my debt in hopes to drink an imaginary debt free martini....and finally become financially fit.

Banishing Loans

Because sometimes a 20-sided die makes more sense than money

Balancing purses and pennies in heels.

... in search of the perfect balance between living frugally and living to the max!

Double Debt Single Woman

a single woman paying off over $140,000 of debt

The Healthful Saver

The Quest for Healthy Savings and a Healthy Lifestyle

Simply Save

Saving money & simplifying life

I Make My Bed

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Making My Way to Zero

Making my way to zero one day at a time

TML Work Blog

Share financial tips and work

Living Awesome

A Road to Happiness, Success and Fulfillment

Life in the Orchard

A Little Crafting, Cooking, Gardening and Living

Budget Loving Military Wife

Our Journey from Debt to Wealth

