Debt Free Travel

My biggest dream and goal for the ‘short’ term is to travel debt free.

This dream is my awesome motivator to kick debts ass!!

I travelled through some parts of South America in 2012 for almost 5 months. It was the time of my life and amost as soon as I arrived back to Australia , I wanted to go again.

But I was deep in debt and totally broke.

I did actually save hard for the 2012 trip. I even worked 2 jobs as the departure date drew near for extra cash.

My plan was foiled by a terrible decision financially to move across to the other side of the country, with no job, 6 months before my departure date. It only took a month to get a job but I was chewing through savings and I just never really got back on track.

I remember morning I realised there was no other option but to draw another 5k on my loan (which was down to 2k) if I wanted to travel for as long as I’d planned.

I was actually gutted, I vowed I wouldn’t draw on debt to take that trip, and there I was – doing exactly that. I stood in the bank feeling sick and like a failure as my loan jumped up another 5k.

I left for the adventure of a life time 13k iN debt.

Plus I had to set aside almost 2k to make repayments during the time I was away. What a waate of good travel money!

I came back to Australia determined to rid myself of the debt and then take another trip – this time backpacking through central america.

But more importantly, this time, without 14k debt.

Thats my goal and my motivator. What’s your reason to kick debts ass?!

8 thoughts on “Debt Free Travel

  1. My motivator is also traveling! πŸ™‚ There is so much of the world I have yet to see! I can’t wait until our extra money is going to traveling and not paying off debt! πŸ™‚

  2. For me is so I can go ti school debt free with savings so I dont have to rely on laons.

  3. morgaine80 says:

    My main motivator for paying off debt is freedom. Not owing anything to anyone, all my money is mine to do with what I want, not to pay interest.

    • I HATE interest. When I started my debt journey and actually began to pay attention to my debt and do the math on outstanding balances / interest I was just like I can’t believe how much of my cash is sucked up in interest. And now I am paying down my personal loan, the bank asks me everytime I call if I want to increase my loan. I always say “no WAY, you guys know I can’t wait to get rid of this loan and the interest right” ha.

  4. I want to kick debt’s ass so I can actually keep all my paycheck to do as I please. πŸ™‚

    • The feeling of having a WHOLE paycheck to allocate / spend how you want will be awesome..since I took out my first credit card at 18, I’ve always been partially working to pay someone else. A bank. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

Forks in the Road

the intersection of food and travel

Single Girl's Guide to Becoming Debt Free

And the lessons she's learned along the way!

saving{s} grace blog

a journey to financial freedom through following Jesus

4000 Sundays

Life adventures. Mostly involving travel and ridiculous amounts of caffeine

bad yellow duck

New York. Bath Toys. Etc.

Debt Free Martini

Blogging away my debt in hopes to drink an imaginary debt free martini....and finally become financially fit.

Banishing Loans

Because sometimes a 20-sided die makes more sense than money

Balancing purses and pennies in heels.

... in search of the perfect balance between living frugally and living to the max!

Double Debt Single Woman

a single woman paying off over $140,000 of debt

The Healthful Saver

The Quest for Healthy Savings and a Healthy Lifestyle

Simply Save

Saving money & simplifying life

I Make My Bed

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Making My Way to Zero

Making my way to zero one day at a time

TML Work Blog

Share financial tips and work

Living Awesome

A Road to Happiness, Success and Fulfillment

Life in the Orchard

A Little Crafting, Cooking, Gardening and Living

Budget Loving Military Wife

Our Journey from Debt to Wealth

