A slow shopping spree

I SO miss buying clothes. Debt smashing is rewarding and all, but damn, sometimes I just want to bust out and buy a new wardrobe.

Right before I left for my South American backpacking adventure I spent quite a lot of cash on the items I needed for the trip – backpack, locks, headlamp etc. I also spent quite a bit on clothes.

When you have a small amount of clothes on high rotation for months and months, you want to start the trip with clothes you aren’t already sick of wearing. I am pretty much sick of my entire wardrobe at the moment. Unnecessary clothing purchases were the first thing to go when I got serious about paying off debt and saving.

In preparation for my trip to Central America, I have decided to approach my clothing purchases in a different way. I have prepared a list of the items I want to take and plan to purchase these throughout the year and pop them in a box to stay all nice and new for my trip!

Sure, I could put the money aside instead but I think this approach will give me the little shopping hit I need occasionally, and it’s just a bit of a different way to prepare 🙂

Here is my list:

  • 3 x pair of shorts
  • 3 x t-shirts
  • 3 x singlets
  • 2 x casual summer dresses
  • 2 x hoodies
  • 2 x leggings
  • 1 x pair of jeans
  • 1 x pair of hiking pants
  • 1 x rain jacket
  • 1 x cardigan
  • 1 x jacket

I will be taking other things (underwear etc!) but these are the things I’d like to have new 🙂

Speaking of holidays, I’m off to New Zealand tonight! Just for a week 🙂  but I can’t wait! I won’t be posting my normal weekly spend report on Sunday but I’ll check in after my trip and let you know how I went on my holiday spending – holiday budget vs actual spend.

Ciao!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “A slow shopping spree

  1. Enjoy our trip!! I need new work clothes – i work on a dairy farm and eveery pair of pants i have have rips lol

  2. Have fun! I would LOVE to spend a week in New Zealand… some day! 🙂

  3. Lana says:

    Have a blast. D

  4. Mel says:

    I’m so jealous of all your travel adventures! I would love to just take 6 months off and wander, but I don’t think I could make it happen. Maybe that’s just how I’ll spend my retirement ;o)

    • Hey Mel, thanks for stopping by The Debt Breakup! In November 2012, when I was broke, unemployed and saddled with almost 15k worth of debt, I wasn’t sure I could make it happen! But patience and commitment are the key to realizing these big dreams..I’m not there year but chipping away at it slowly and can see my next trip on the (debt free!) horizon 🙂

  5. I just read your entire blog (I’m working right now waiting for some computer software to update so I had time), and I’m lookin forward to reading future updates in real time! I think the slow shopping spree is a great idea! Hope your NZ trip went well!

    • Hey Daniel, thanks for taking the time to read my blog! It will be interesting to see how the slow shopping spree works out! I’ll include items ticked off the list in my end of month updates 😉 Thanks again for stopping by The Debt Breakup!

  6. I feel your pain. I’m a self proclaimed shopaholic and I’m also a student 2 months shy of graduation. So the reality of my debt is starting to sink in while I just booked a vacation for May that I desperately want to buy an entirely new summer wardrobe for. It’s great to know that there’s other people in the same boat and I think your new shopping approach is a great idea! I also wear things out until I hate them, and then I wear them again because I can’t afford to buy new stuff, so I think your idea of hiding new purchases away is ingenious! Thanks for the great tips and I hope all your travels go well 🙂

  7. I feel your pain. I’m a self proclaimed shopaholic and I’m also a student 2 months shy of graduation. So the reality of my debt is starting to sink in while I just booked a vacation for May that I desperately want to buy an entirely new summer wardrobe for. It’s great to know that there’s other people in the same boat and I think your new shopping approach is a great idea! I also wear things out until I hate them, and then I wear them again because I can’t afford to buy new stuff, so I think your idea of hiding new purchases away is ingenious! Thanks for the great tips and I hope all your travels go well 🙂

Leave a Reply

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

Forks in the Road

the intersection of food and travel

Single Girl's Guide to Becoming Debt Free

And the lessons she's learned along the way!

saving{s} grace blog

a journey to financial freedom through following Jesus

4000 Sundays

Life adventures. Mostly involving travel and ridiculous amounts of caffeine

bad yellow duck

New York. Bath Toys. Etc.

Debt Free Martini

Blogging away my debt in hopes to drink an imaginary debt free martini....and finally become financially fit.

Banishing Loans

Because sometimes a 20-sided die makes more sense than money

Balancing purses and pennies in heels.

... in search of the perfect balance between living frugally and living to the max!

Double Debt Single Woman

a single woman paying off over $140,000 of debt

The Healthful Saver

The Quest for Healthy Savings and a Healthy Lifestyle

Simply Save

Saving money & simplifying life

I Make My Bed

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Making My Way to Zero

Making my way to zero one day at a time

TML Work Blog

Share financial tips and work

Living Awesome

A Road to Happiness, Success and Fulfillment

Life in the Orchard

A Little Crafting, Cooking, Gardening and Living

Budget Loving Military Wife

Our Journey from Debt to Wealth

