Get real – stop buying stuff you can’t afford

So here’s a cold hard little debt busting fact:

When you are up to your eyeballs in debt, you can’t afford expensive hobbies. You can’t afford go out to eat at 5 star restaurants every week. You can’t afford to shout rounds of cocktails to your friends at Friday night drinks. You can’t afford that expensive faceceam – even if it on special.

Before I got serious about debt repayment, I played a little (and financially dangerous) game of spending tug of war when it came to the things I really couldn’t afford.

I told myself these things:

  • I deserve it.
  • I’ve had a tough week.
  • It’s on special.
  • The world might end if I don’t get it.
  • It’s not a lot of money.
  • Whats the point in going out for just one drink?
  • It will make me happy.

The last reason is possibly the worst of them all. I was happy in the moment I purchased whatever it was. Then I felt anxious, guilty and hopeless about my ever mounting debt and my seemingly inability toΒ stop spending money.

Truth is, most of my blow out expenditure was on nights out – booze and food. Drinking + making intelligent financial decisions do not go hand it hand. For me, anyway.

I don’t even know how many ‘mornings after’ I woke up to an empty wallet and a vague feeling of handing over my credit card to the bar to buy drinks time and time again.

This sort of spending – silly, wasteful spending – had to stop. Even the seemingly not so silly spending did!

Even spending $15.00 (that’s not much right??) over your budget each week adds up to $780.00 a year! Thats $780 towards debt freedom or savings!

If you are in debt, you have given up the freedom to spend money left right and centre. Quit the vague promise to yourself to ‘put more money towards my debt this year’.

Be clear in your commitment. Draw up goals. Plan. Budget.

And stop buying stuff you can’t afford.

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Get real – stop buying stuff you can’t afford

  1. It will make me happy. That’s the best reason to spend. It tends to be my only reason to spend. After a long day sometimes the feeling of buying something just gives you that high. Of course the next morning I’m always like why did I buy that!? Not spending has been hardest adjustment for me over the course of this month. It’s required a complete change in my way of thinking.

    • Exactly – a complete change in thinking is required…and yes, it is tough! Especially at first. The crazy thing was, the more I was in debt, the more I was likely to impulse buy…it was like, well there is so much on my credit card, what difference is another $50 going to make. Crazy,
      Thanks for stopping by, I look forward to checking out your blog!

  2. I remember those going out days and buying drinks for people and using my credit card to do it… terrible! (not that I am old now… but I mean my early 20’s) I just wish I could go back and give my young self some financial tips. I’d been in a much better position when I first started a family if I could.

    • I agree! When I think of the money spent on nights out when I really couldn’t afford it, it makes me cringe! I am all for a fun night, and not saying you can NEVER LEAVE THE HOUSE πŸ˜‰ but seriously, $100 + on drinks for a night on the town is crazy. Especially when you are charging it to your card! At least we have learnt those lessons though! Never to late to change silly financial habits! πŸ™‚

  3. imakemybed says:

    Reblogged this on I Make My Bed and commented:
    Great stuff. So true!

  4. Jocelyn says:

    Ugh, my ex-boyfriend had $40k of credit card debt (which made my $13k seem small in comparison) and was *always* buying rounds of drinks for everybody. He loved feeling like a baller especially when he hung around with the college-age crowd, like he was the big brother with the big boy job. So glad I dodged that bullet πŸ˜‰

    • With 40k in credit card debt you shouldn’t even be buying yourself drinks, let alone others! ha. Sounds like a lot of ego based spending πŸ˜‰ certainly a bullet dodged! I think financial compatibility in a relationship is important. At least you got out when you did! Thanks for stopping by The Debt Breakup πŸ™‚

  5. Carly says:

    Great post! This story is also my story! Only forget the 5 star restaurants, I couldn’t afford the cheap Thai take-out down the block. All of the reasons you’ve listed are reasons I’ve told myself — and you are absolutely right–they’re ALL LIES. After a year of working towards getting out of debt, I get it. And I’m soooo much happier (not in-the-moment happy, but happy happy) because of it. Great advice! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

Forks in the Road

the intersection of food and travel

Single Girl's Guide to Becoming Debt Free

And the lessons she's learned along the way!

saving{s} grace blog

a journey to financial freedom through following Jesus

4000 Sundays

Life adventures. Mostly involving travel and ridiculous amounts of caffeine

bad yellow duck

New York. Bath Toys. Etc.

Debt Free Martini

Blogging away my debt in hopes to drink an imaginary debt free martini....and finally become financially fit.

Banishing Loans

Because sometimes a 20-sided die makes more sense than money

Balancing purses and pennies in heels.

... in search of the perfect balance between living frugally and living to the max!

Double Debt Single Woman

a single woman paying off over $140,000 of debt

The Healthful Saver

The Quest for Healthy Savings and a Healthy Lifestyle

Simply Save

Saving money & simplifying life

I Make My Bed

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Making My Way to Zero

Making my way to zero one day at a time

TML Work Blog

Share financial tips and work

Living Awesome

A Road to Happiness, Success and Fulfillment

Life in the Orchard

A Little Crafting, Cooking, Gardening and Living

Budget Loving Military Wife

Our Journey from Debt to Wealth

