Its your debt. It doesn’t matter to anyone else.

With less than a month to go until my final repayment, I have been reflecting a little on my journey to debt freedom and something that has struck me is the solitary nature of this battle.

Only 2 people – other than readers of the Debt Breakup – know exactly how much debt I’m paying off. Honestly, no-one else would really care. I mean sure, people would be like ‘good on you’ and ‘well done’ or even – ‘well you were stupid enough to get into that much debt in the first place so woop de doo, you’ve paid it off’

Most people won’t realise –  or care too much – about how much it has taken to get to this point. Patience, diligence, restraint, sacrifice – REPEAT. Over and over again.

And really, when it comes down to it, why should anyone else care? This is the debt that I got myself into and I’m getting myself out of. I have no dependents and no spouse, so it affects no one but me. Yep, it was stupid of me to rack up so much debt – am I simply not just doing what I should have done years ago and making things right. Every cent I have paid towards my debt has been my own, no one has given me a leg up. It really has been an extremely solitary endeavor, and one that may have felt quite lonely at times if it weren’t for the readers of the Debt Breakup.

Blogging about my journey here, albeit anonymously, has helped me carry the momentum when I felt like giving up. The kind comments and encouraging sentiments left on my blog have told me I am not truly on the journey by myself. Others out there have felt the same sense of anxiety, panic, anger and stress about debt, and the sense of achievement as we pull closer and closer to the goal of $0.00.

My aim for this blog was never to take over the PF blogging world with a million readers and 1000’s of comments. It was to share my story and hope that others may find some inspiration, just as I have found in the many debt busting blogs along my journey.

So, thank you readers of the Debt Breakup. I can honestly say, this process would have been SO much harder without the blog and the readers 🙂

$0.00 is in sight. Oh YEH.

Have a great day!

 

 

8 thoughts on “Its your debt. It doesn’t matter to anyone else.

  1. Michelle says:

    Congratulations! Must be a great feeling!!!

    I havent really told anyone about my debt payoff journey as well, but I am hoping that the PF blog world will help me – which they have already because I already made the decision to start my payoff. Thanks to you and everyone else

    • I’m sure the PF blogging world will help you! It has been a huge inspiration for me. It is great to be able to talk about debt with people who know what I’m talking about. That is super exciting you have made that decision to start! I remember when I made that decision and I made the first actual big repayment towards my debt…it felt great! I actually wrote a letter to myself on that date – all the reasons why I wanted to be debt free etc, only to be read again when I finally paid off my debt. So I will be sharing that on one of my final posts. Congrats on starting your journey – stick with it and you will reap the rewards of freedom from debt 🙂

  2. Congratulations!!! It has to be life changing….right?

    • For sure! It really has been a life changing journey and not just because the debt is slowly ticking down but because my whole attitude towards money has changed and I’ve learnt a lot in the last year. I also know now what I can ‘go without’ that really doesn’t matter too much at all! Thanks for your comments 🙂

  3. morgaine80 says:

    So exciting, the end is near! I didn’t tell many people about my debt situation either. We’ve definitely become a society where debt is “normal” and making a huge effort to pay it off makes us seem weird somehow 😉

    • Yep! Sometimes I do feel a bit weird 🙂 and that is why I don’t talk about the in’s and out’s of it too much! When you start talking about things like frugality and budgets etc peoples eyes glaze over haha. But that’s ok. I actually really enjoy budgets and I’ve learnt a lot from the PF blogging world in the last year. Thanks for stopping by! And yes, the end is near – the end of this month!

  4. You are definitely inspiring your readers! Congrats on your persistence to see through to your last payment! What an amazing feeling once it sinks in! 🙂

    • Thanks so much 🙂 🙂 I’m pretty pumped to make that last payment! I might not know what to do with myself without debt numbers to count down haha. Actually, my next mission is saving to travel through Central America at the end of the year for 3 months, so I’ll be counting savings going UP rather than debt going down 🙂 thanks for your comments!

Leave a Reply

Appalachian Trail Girl

A How-To for Hiker Girls

Forks in the Road

the intersection of food and travel

Single Girl's Guide to Becoming Debt Free

And the lessons she's learned along the way!

saving{s} grace blog

a journey to financial freedom through following Jesus

4000 Sundays

Life adventures. Mostly involving travel and ridiculous amounts of caffeine

bad yellow duck

New York. Bath Toys. Etc.

Debt Free Martini

Blogging away my debt in hopes to drink an imaginary debt free martini....and finally become financially fit.

Banishing Loans

Because sometimes a 20-sided die makes more sense than money

Balancing purses and pennies in heels.

... in search of the perfect balance between living frugally and living to the max!

Double Debt Single Woman

a single woman paying off over $140,000 of debt

The Healthful Saver

The Quest for Healthy Savings and a Healthy Lifestyle

Simply Save

Saving money & simplifying life

I Make My Bed

A Walk through a Change in my Finances

Making My Way to Zero

Making my way to zero one day at a time

TML Work Blog

Share financial tips and work

Living Awesome

A Road to Happiness, Success and Fulfillment

Life in the Orchard

A Little Crafting, Cooking, Gardening and Living

Budget Loving Military Wife

Our Journey from Debt to Wealth

